Mumbai Railway Station Codes (Short codes) as Seen On Train Indicator

“Understanding railway station codes of Mumbai While looking at train Indicators, Often many people are new to the Mumbai Local Train Network get confused in understanding station names & its shortcodes.

Also that not all railway stations have a specially allocated shortcode, And it does take some time to understand individual platform LED indicators that display these station codes.

To make things easy and to help understand these ‘Indicator Station Codes’ better for 3 major routes (Western, Central & Harbour) Also there is the ‘Trans-Harbour route’ & ‘Vasai Diva Route’, Below listed are all the station names with codes that are used on every platform train Indicators..”

Mumbai Railway Station Network Map 2023

Kindly Note

  • Not every railway station in Mumbai’s local train network has a ‘Short Code/Name’. Those that have, are major stations from where the train starts to other locations on the route.
  • As said, Western, Central & Harbour are 3 main routes for local trains.
  • Few Stations like Bandra, Dadar, Andheri, and Goregaon have both Western & Central Railway Lines.
  • CSMT/CSTM/VT/Mumbai CST/Chattrapati Shivaji Terminus Mumbai/Chattrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus are all same and have Station Short Code ‘ST‘.
  • Virar station (Western Railway Route) & Vashi (Central Railway Route) both have Station Short Code as ‘V‘.
  • Few other Railway stations may have multiple codes like ‘A‘ & ‘AD‘ for Andheri. ‘C‘,’CH‘, & ‘CLA‘ for Kurla/Kurla Junction. ‘BL‘ & ‘BUD‘ for Badlapur.
  • Missing station codes means they are not major railway stations or local trains usually do not start from those stations and so codes are not required.

Western Railway Station Codes

Shortcodes for all station names on Mumbai local train WESTERN RAILWAY TRAIN ROUTE.

Dahanu Road (DN)  Vangaon  Boisar  Umroli  Palghar  Kelve Road  Saphale  Vaitarna  Virar (V)  Nallasopara / Nalasopara (NS)  Vasai Road / Bassein (BS)  Naigaon  Bhayandar (BY)  Mira Road  Dahisar  Borivali (BO)  Kandivali  Malad (M)  Goregaon (G)  Ram Mandir  Jogeshwari  Andheri (A/AD)  Vile Parle  Santacruz  Khar Road  Bandra (B)  Mahim  Matunga  Dadar (D)  Prabhadevi  Lower Parel  Mahalaxmi  Mumbai Central (MMCT)  Grant Road  Charni Road  Marine Lines  Churchgate (C).

Central Railway Station Codes

Station Codes for CSMT to Kasara Stations (Via Kalyan)

Mumbai CST/CSTM/CSMT (ST)  Masjid bunder  Sandhurst Road  Byculla  Chinchpokli  Currey Road  Parel  Dadar (D)  Matunga  Sion  Kurla (C/CH/CLA)  Vidyavihar  Ghatkopar (G)  Vikroli  Kanjurmarg  Bhandup  Nahur  Mulund  Thane (T)  Kalwa  Mumbra  Diva  Dombivali (DI)  Thakurli  Kalyan (K)  Shahad  Ambivli  Titwala (TL)  Khadvali  Vasind  Asangaon (AN)  Atgaon  Thansit  Khardi  Umbermalli  Kasara (N).

Station Codes for CSMT to Khopoli Stations (Via Kalyan)

From CSMT to Kalyan (Route Same as above). Kalyan (K) Thansit  Vithalwadi  Ulhasnagar  Ambernath (A)  Badlapur (BL/BUD)  Vangani  Shelu  Neral  Bhivpuri  Karjat (S)  Palasdhari  Kelavli  Dolavli  Lowjee  Khopoli (KP).

Harbour Railway Station Codes

Mumbai CST/CSMT/CSTM (ST)  Masjid Bunder  Sandhurst Road  Dockyard Road  Reay Road  Cotton green  Sewri  Wadala /Vadala Road (VD)  Raoli Junction  GTB Nagar  Chunabhatti  Kurla (C/CH/CLA)  Tilak Nagar  Chembur (CM)  Govandi  Mankhurd (M)  Vashi (V)  Sanpada  Jui Nagar  Nerul (NU)  Seewoods-Darave  CBD Belapur  Kharghar  Mansarovar  Khandeshwar  Panvel (PL).

Short Codes for Trans Harbour Line (Thane to Navi Mumbai)

Thane  Airoli  Rabale  Ghansoli  Kopar Khairane  Turbhe  Jui Nagar  Nerul (NU)  Seewoods-Darave  CBD Belapur  Kharghar  Mansarovar  Khandeshwar  Panvel (PL).

Vasai to Diva Station Codes

Vasai Road / Bassein (BS)  Juchandra  Kaman Road  Kharboa  Bhiwandi  Diva.

See: Official list of Indicator codes

See Also :
Km Distance between stations.
Mumbai metro trains.
AC local train schedules.
Local trains timetable.
Mumbai Railway Network Map.

My love towards Mumbai city took me to passion blogging from hobby. Upon quitting job, now i am one of the online city & travel guide since 2007. Hope my efforts helps citizen, foreign nationals & tourists in some or other ways.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Based on 314 reviews
powered by Google
02:40 16 Feb 23
HelloI'm here to say that many times bus 375 from Bandra station heading to shivaji nagar are not on time...more often they are delayed or cancelled.I keep waiting for it for 15-30min still the bus doesn't come.Today also I waited for 30min still the bus is not on stop.Plz Either change the bus schedule frequency which is shown on Google currently or make the bus come on time so that passangers will act as per convenience.
Jasmin Goda
Jasmin Goda
05:52 12 Dec 22
A blog i refer since years for most accurate and updated information related to Mumbai city, Travel and Other Attraction places etc. Keep up the good work Deven.
Robinson Parmar
Robinson Parmar
06:09 30 Nov 22
Excellent service by Khushboo singh very enthusiastic and energetic.
Tushar Lakhe
Tushar Lakhe
03:55 24 Jul 22
Good to have "All you need to know about Mumbai" at one place. 👍
Ritesh Choudhari (RiCho)
Ritesh Choudhari (RiCho)
05:25 14 May 22
I visited the website in search for some specific bus routes and timings in Mumbai. I found them all. Well as far as I have used the website, it is pretty good for people to get information at one one place rather than browsing the internet for long hours.
See All Reviews
Google Review