Mumbai Railway Station Names Including Proposed New Names

“Here is an updated list of railway station names in Mumbai for the operation of local trains. Navi Mumbai, Thane, and Palghar are the locations where local and Metro trains operate. Mumbai’s local train railway stations form Asia’s second-largest railway network with four major routes (Western, Central, Harbour, and Trans-Harbour) and other connected and upcoming railway routes…”

Mumbai Railway Network Map 2023
Mumbai Railway Network Map 2023
Mumbai Railway Station Names
Mumbai Railway Station Names

Old and New Station Names (Including Proposed)

In March 2024, three additional names were included in the list of proposed names, which were suggested by the State cabinet, Shiv Sena MP’s, and other leaders. Current name of those stations are ‘Marine Lines’, ‘Dockyard Road’, and ‘King’s Circle’.

Here are the details of the newly proposed names.

Western Railway Route

  • Churchgate (Proposed in 2023 with New Name as ‘CD Deshmukh‘), He was the first RBI Governer of India.
  • Marine Lines (Previously Proposed name Sonapur, Proposed New Name ‘Mumbadevi‘)
  • Charni Road (Proposed New Name ‘Girgaon‘)
  • Grant Road (Proposed New Name ‘Gamdevi‘)
  • Dadar (Proposed New Name ‘Chaityabhoomi‘)
  • Elphinstone Road (Already Changed to ‘Prabhadevi‘)

Central & Harbour Railway Route

  • Currey Road (Proposed New Name ‘Lalbaug’)
  • Cotton Green (Proposed New Name ‘Kala Chowki’)
  • Reay Road (Proposed New Name ‘Ghodapdeo’)
  • Sandhurst Road (Proposed New Name ‘Dongri’)
  • Dockyard Road (Proposed New Name ‘Mazgaon’)
  • King’s Circle (Proposed New Name ‘Tirthankar Parshwanath’)

See Also : Mumbai Railway Network Map and Distance (km) between stations.

Western Railway Station Names

All Stations Names Between Churchgate and Dahanu Road

Total of 36 Railway Stations from Churchgate to Dahanu Road, Till Virar, total 28 Stations.

Churchgate  Marine Line (Proposed New Name ‘Sonapur’) Charni Road (Proposed New Name ‘Girgaum’) Grant Road  Mumbai Central  Mahalaxmi  Lowerparel  Elphinstone Road (Renamed to Prabhadevi) Dadar (Proposed New Name ‘Chaityabhoomi’) Matunga Road  Mahim Junction  Bandra  Khar Road  Santacruz  Vile Parle  Andheri  Jogeshwari  Ram Mandir  Goregaon  Malad  Kandivali  Borivali  Dahisar  Mira Road  Bhayander  Naigaon  Vasai  Nalasopara  Virar  Vaitarna  Saphale  Kelve Road  Palghar  Umroli  Boisar  Vangaon  Dahanu Road.

Central Railway Station Names

<>All Stations Names Between Mumbai CST/CSMT/CSTM/ST and Kasara (Via Kalyan)>

Total of 36 Railway Stations from CSMT to Kalyan, Till Kalyan, total 25 Stations.

Mumbai CST  Masjid bunder  Sandhurst Road (Proposed New Name ‘Dongri’) Byculla  Chinchpokli  Currey Road  Parel  Dadar  Matunga  Sion  Kurla  Vidyavihar  Ghatkopar  Vikroli  Kanjurmarg  Bhandup  Nahur  Mulund  Thane  Kalwa  Mumbra  Diva  Dombivali  Thakurli  Kalyan  Shahad  Ambivili  Titwala  Khadvali  Vashind  Asangaon  Atgaon  Thansit Khardi  Umbermalli Kasara.

<>All Stations Between Mumbai CST/CSMT/CSTM/ST and Khopoli (Via Kalyan)>

Total of 15 Railway Stations from Kalyan to Khopoli.

The stations between CST and Kalyan are the same as above. After Kalyan – Vithalwadi  Ulhasnagar  Ambernath  Badlapur  Vangani  Shelu  Neral  Bhivpuri  Karjat  Palasdhari  Kelavli  Dolavli  Lowjee  Khopoli.

Harbour Railway Station Names

All Stations Between Mumbai Mumbai CST/CSMT/CSTM/ST and Panvel (Navi Mumbai).

Mumbai CST  Masjid Bunder  Sandhurst Road  Dockyard Road  Reay Road (Proposed New Name ‘Ghodapdeo’) Cotton green  Sewri  Wadala / Vadala Road  GTB Nagar  Chunabhatti  Kurla  Tilak Nagar  Chembur  Govandi  Mankhurd  Vashi  Sanpada  Jui Nagar  Nerul  Seewoods-Darave  CBD Belapur  Kharghar  Mansarovar  Khandeshwar  Panvel.

Trans Harbour Railway Station Names

Station Names and Connectivity between Thane & Navi Mumbai

Total 17 Railway Stations between Thane (Central Railway) and Panvel (Trans-Harbour)

Thane Dighe Airoli Rabale Ghansoli Kopar Khairane Turbhe Sanpada Vashi Jui Nagar Nerul Seewoods-Darave CBD Belapur Kharghar Mansarovar Khandeshwar Panvel.

Stations Names Between Vasai Diva Panvel

Vasai is on Western Railway Route

Total 7 Railway Stations between Vasai and Diva

Vasai Road  Juchandra  Kaman Road  Kharboa  Bhiwandi  Kopar Diva.

Diva to Panvel Station Names

Total 7 Railway Stations between Diva and Panvel

Diva Dativali Nilaje Taloja Navade Road Kalamboli Panvel.

Railway Stations Names Between Nerul and Uran

Nerul to Uran (Port Lines) with Connectivity at Harbour & Trans-Harbour Railway Routes

Total of 12 Railway Stations between Nerul and Uran are Listed below

Nerul Seawoods–Darave CBD Belapur Sagar Sangam Targhar Bamandongri Kharkopar Gavhan Ranjanpada Nhava Sheva Dronagiri Uran City.

More Mumbai Railway / Trains / Routes References

See Also: Metro Trains, and AC local trains timings.

See More in    Travel Guide

Greetings, I am Deven, the founder of Mumbai77. With immense passion, I have dedicated my full-time efforts to continuously learn and update important information about Mumbai city. Currently, I am a full-time blogger residing in Mumbai. Since its establishment on July 7, 2007, Mumbai77 has attracted millions of pageviews. Our website aims to provide valuable information, including my personal reviews and experiences, to assist individuals worldwide in their search for updated information about Mumbai city.
329 Google reviews
Milind Sonar
Milind Sonar
It was helpful
mahendra mehta
mahendra mehta
Give us 2024 bus timing for all rout .remove old time table
Suneeta Mestry
Suneeta Mestry
Good information about all stops. Thank you so much
Sachin Mistry
Sachin Mistry
Extremely helpful

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *