RTO Grievance Department – Mumbai | Auto Taxi Complaints

“The RTO Grievance department is active for any complaints related to road offences like auto and taxi driver refusal to ply, fare over charges, tempering meters etc. Below are the exact steps along with contacts numbers of Mumbai traffic department and RTO, if you suffer such difficulties during commuting..”

Road Offences Rules
Road Offences Rules

Complaints Received by Traffic Police

It was April 2012 when Mumbai Traffic police, upon their mission to give lesson to taxi and auto drivers who refuse to ply customers have received number of grievance complaints.

Traffic Police Control Room
Traffic Police Control Room
April 2012May 2012June 2012
Refusal to ply344022
Drivers Charging Excess Fares081105
Drivers Arrogance & Behaviour020301
Rigged Meters (Tampering)0001

How and Where To Complain For Auto Taxi Grievance

  1. You can also contact traffic police latest 2017 helpline +91-22-62426666 and other contact numbers like (+91-22-24940303, +91-22-24927234) extension (102 and 107) as detailed in 2012., Remember to add code 022 if calling from mobile phone.
  2. For complaints related to Auto Taxi Arrogance, Meter tampering or Refusal to ply etc, you can call RTO toll free number in Mumbai : (1800-22-0110) and this complaints will be forwarded to respective RTO office in Mumbai.

You can also put up online complaints to traffic department website and be sure of action taken if found guilty.

The respected authority of traffic department will take action and will inform you about same. They also update this to the office of joint commissioner of police (traffic department). Here, if the matter is not solved or no response found after complaint given by you, you can directly contact joint commissioners office in Mumbai on helpline number (+91-22-24954443) to inquire about the status of your complaint.

More on Road Traffic Rules on Offences and Penalties

Deven Jadav

My love towards Mumbai city took me to passion blogging from hobby. Upon quitting job, now i am one of the online city & travel guide since 2007. Hope my efforts helps citizen, foreign nationals & tourists in some or other ways.

11 thoughts on “RTO Grievance Department – Mumbai | Auto Taxi Complaints

  • Pingback:Online Renewal Process of Permanent Driving License - Mumbai

  • September 11, 2019 at 10:35 pm
    Permalink

    Dear Sir,

    I forgot my phone in auto no. mh03bt2555 on Sep. 9 while traveling
    from Jogeshwari station to Prudential Building, Hiranandani Powai at
    11:30 a.m.

    Please share contact details of the auto owner and help me get my phone back.

    Regards,

    Amit Maroo
    +91-7768003748

    Reply
  • October 7, 2019 at 1:44 am
    Permalink

    Dear Sir/Madam,
    An auto rickshaw driver committed an accident with my scooter. He wasn’t wearing the auto uniform and in addition to the accident he also abused me and threatened to beat me, when it was his mistake. He damaged my helmet and sunglasses.
    I demand strict action to be taken on him.
    Auto no: MH47AD0332
    The incident took place in goregaon east near dindoshi depot.

    Reply
    • October 24, 2019 at 12:15 pm
      Permalink

      Dear Sir / Madam
      I am Nandkumar Khorgade and have a complaint against the auto rickshaw driver because the driver is not going to meter and he will told to extra rent for near place that I should go and the driver has miss behavior to my wife and told him to go there should have extra rent given or asking that have not going in meter reading because the place have not under the meter circle have any auto rickshaw not going in meter reading
      I am asking him why are fix the meter in this auto rickshaw he told me go to anywhere for the complaint I am take the picture to auto rickshaw
      and the registration no the auto rickshaw MH 04 JH 5010 so I would request to the RTO department close the permit of the auto rickshaw driver

      Yours Faithfully

      Nandkumar Khorgade

      Reply
    • November 18, 2019 at 7:24 am
      Permalink

      Respected sir,
      I Neelam patil of Thane dostivihar vartak nagar want to bring in light that the autodrivers staring outside our complex refuses to take a small distance ferry as well as others too.

      Today at 3 p.m when I ask for wagle estate 3 autodriver who were in queue refuse to go there auto no is given below:

      MH04-JH (4116)
      MH04-HZ (8502)
      MH04-GN (3287)

      They tell us to go back as we are beggars,want you to look in the matter ASP.
      Hope I will get the justice.

      Reply
  • October 9, 2019 at 4:52 am
    Permalink

    मला complaint करायचे आहे, hit and Run, miss behaviour. MH 47 N 1196. Dated 07.09.19. 10.30am.

    Reply
  • October 15, 2019 at 2:05 pm
    Permalink

    today late night 11.45pm, I was trying to get a rickshaw from White Lily Apt, Datar Colony, opposite small gate of Crompton Greaves.

    A rickshaw came and stopped and we got into it with my wife and child. The rickshaw driver REFUSE TO START THE METER, AND SAID HE WOULD DROP TO BHANDUP STATION. WE said we would like to go to Rachanaa apartment, he started asking for big money, said night charges, etc. trying to FLEECE CUSTOMERS, TAKING ADVANTAGE OF TIME. REFUSAL TO START THE METER INSPITE OF WE INSISTING OF METER. THIS MUST STOP ,

    RICKSHAW NUMBER IS MH 03 BN 8367. driver trying to fleece customers running rickshaw without meters ON. REFUSE TO START THE METER AT NIGHT.

    IF THE DRIVER WAS NOT INTERESTED, HE SHOULD HAVE REFUSED US TO TAKE IN, BUT HAVING TAKING US IN, HE CANNOT BE ABUSIVE AND ARROGANT.

    Reply
  • October 18, 2019 at 9:11 am
    Permalink

    Near Versowa metro station non pf the rickshaws goes yo versowa station. There is very rate chances of getting buses and taxi or rickshaw and that too this auto wala be like ” Hume nahi chaiye bhada”.
    This is happening since long time. No response.

    Reply
  • November 27, 2019 at 10:23 pm
    Permalink

    Good morning

    I have complaint against an auto rickshaw about last night travel at 10:19pm 27/11/2019. License plate number MH 47 D 9165. I have notice that his meter was not working condition and he ask more from his meter amount still as a one time courtesy I have paid him 50 rs in total. Over the top on my head he is arguing and asking more money with out auto rick shaw meter fare. I have argued to him that you can take me to police station and than we can clear all the doubts there itself. At the start he took from my building to main gate and than stopped and refuse to go to police station to identity the problem about his meter. Later all people go gather and it was to much of awkwardness to me as others were saying to let him go. So after 20 minutes in this I left the auto paying 50 rupees which was not the Meter fare and I also took picture and video with the conversation. Where should I upload the Video and Pictures?

    Reply
  • December 7, 2019 at 11:26 pm
    Permalink

    Dear sir,
    I have ride on auto near domino and pizza hot secore 8A, Airoli for go to sector 20, dt.08.11.2019 morning 11.45 pm. I have call to the person where i want to meet but he said I am not available. so i told driver to reverse the auto and stop auto front of Hotel shiv sagar at 11.49 pm.Auto meter reading is Rs.18, i have give him Rs.20 at that time is put my mobile on seat. Driver not back my Rs.2/- and start the auto. I stop him and say give Rs.2 he said no change. I give him Rs.15 which have change with me. He refuse to take and said i want Rs.18 as per meter. I said stop here i will give change from pan shop near hotal shiv sagar. I want to pan shop and take change and give to driver. and re tune to pan shop. That time i have click my mobile has left in auto. I run behind auto but he not stop. Then i went to pan shop and take his mobile and dail my mob number 2 or 3 time but he not pick the phone after some time mobile is swichoff. Then i went to Rabale police station for fill compliant. fill the complaint. Then went to CBD belapur Police for CCTV foo tech. He show me all the footech, in footech auto number shown (MH 43 BR 6335) (Auto driver wear white short & pant). Dated 05.12.19 I see the auto airoli i ask the driver about my mobile and tall all incident, I recognize auto driver. but he said i have not drive my auto at airoli, i have drive at thane. I have all the footage at this footage this auto and drive show clearly. After that auto driver tell me false that he has not drive is auto at airoli. Then i complaint and give him auto driver details Mr.Sanjaykumar pannalla yadav addrss Room No.759, Hnuman Nagar, Kanhaya Nagar, Eltanpada Digha, Navi Mumbai to Rabale police station yet no action.
    Kindly help me to get my mobile and take action against auto driver.
    Also requested to cancel his auto driving license.
    Regards
    Nitin Gandhi
    9323182489

    Reply
  • December 9, 2019 at 4:28 am
    Permalink

    Car No:- MH-04-CD-2339, Bike No:- MH-01-AA-9589 & MH-02-AN-2785
    so many Months this bike is park but its unwanted owner, and car is born last 8Months above this is record is Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Road Police Station
    Sewri (W), 400015 and also Fire Bridge office but no body action this situation. I Complaint it please Towing this Car and Bike and take your RTO Custody in your Scrap location. This car is not open its cover in a parking cover.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *